EN: 1 film a day challenge

3/11/2016 – Rotterdam, Netherlands
Listening now: Bon Iver – 22, A Million (in repeat mode!)

Hello babes!

I hope you are all doing amazing! It’s been two weeks since I last showed up (well, I don’t even know what this is meant to suggest.. I have never written regularly on this blog anyway) but here I am again! The last week has been pure madness – I passed my finals for this first term. I don’t think uni has ever been so intense for me (well, this is most probably due to my poor non-existant organisation skills but let’s skip that part of the story) also, these last few days have been really exhausting. With that being said, I absolutely loved this term and had insightful, thought-provoking courses (and lecturers!). The highlights of which being my electives, which I believe I could not have chosen better (I took “Art of Filmmaking” and “Cultural influences on Communication”, and both were a blast). Although as suggested earlier, I haven’t been really hard working lately (well, apart from this week.. obviously) and therefore failed to watch lots of the assigned films (not to mention the literature) for these courses, which is an absolute shame because I’m sure they all were super interesting.

But November just arrived, and every month, I try to set myself some new goals. October’s ones were to start running and catching up with my yoga and guess what.. I’m not doing bad so far! I’m actually way better at running than I thought I would be and, even more surprising: I kind of enjoy it until now (it gives me some kind of high/super proud feeling every single time I finally get to my front door, which makes me feel like an absolute goddess!). Moreover, not only can I feel that my body is becoming stronger (I have fucking abs showing up.. can you believe it?!), but it also helps me to declutter my mind and discover some wonderfully beautiful places in Rotterdam. Anyway, I could go on forever about it, so enough digress, let’s go back to the subject: November is here, and I decided to set myself a new challenge.

While being in London, I bought myself this book called 1001 Movies You Must See Before You Die, from Steven Jay Schneider (I linked the last version available on Amazon if you’re interested and want to check it out). It is basically a list of 1001 classics/cult movies classed chronically, accompanied by some quick facts and reviews about the films. It is a perfect coffee table book and is also a great one to turn to when you lack inspiration (as well as a very good gift for any cinéphile). Nevertheless, it has been on my shelf for two years now, and to be honest I kind of forgot about it. But this was until I passed my exams, and realised that:

  1. I freaking love movies (but rarely take the time to watch some)
  2. My general cinematographic culture is pretty much chimerical (apart if you consider 21st-century American romcoms.. but let’s not go there for now)
  3. And my review skills are.. hum “limited”, so to speak

So! Here we go.. My challenge for this month is to watch one film a day and review it on this blog. It has three main goals: expand my cultural capital, improve my critical review skills and, last but not least: publish more on this blog. If you’re interested in doing the challenge (oh my god, we could form a proper cine club!!), here is how I’m gonna make it work: every Sunday, at the bottom of the review, I will publish the list of the films that I will watch (in the original/subtitled version when possible) and review the following week, so that you can look at it as well and we can then exchange about it in the comment section down below if you’re interested in doing so. The films will be in the chronological order, so I will start off with the silent era, for two reasons: it is how 1001 movies is organized (and I hate jumping from one page to another, I prefer to read in the “correct” order), and it will probably be easier for me to review films which belong to the same period/movement (and later as we go on, draw parallels with older ones). So this week (well until sunday), the films are:

  • Le voyage dans la lune (A Trip to the Moon). Georges Méliès, 1902
  • The Great Train Robbery. Edwin S. Porter, 1903
  • The Birth of a Nation. D.W. Griffith, 1915

I’ll see you tomorrow! Until then, don’t forget to challenge yourself! Much love ♡

C.

One thought on “EN: 1 film a day challenge

Leave a Reply

